{Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop} handmade

This week’s prompt, in true Gussy fashion, is everything HANDMADE. A great way to kick off the Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop!, right?!  Do you have a favorite blanket that your grandmother knitted for you? Does your child play with a HANDMADE toy? What about that construction paper and macaroni creation on your refrigerator? What do you make or want to make?

When I read this week’s prompt, I instantly thought of my handmade quilt that my aunt made for me a few years ago. This quilt has a special place in my heart, because it went through so much to make it from New Orleans to my home in Michigan.

About the time I was graduating from Michigan State I really wanted a handmade quilt from my aunt, but normally she only gives quilts out when her nieces and nephews get married. Well I was starting to give up hope at every finding my soul mate. So when my mom and I went to visit her in New Orleans I took some fabric and decided ask if she would make a quilt for me. This was spring break 2005. Well my aunt got started on my quilt, she had the top pieced together had it on her quilting rack (she hand quilts all of her creations), a few days later Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans.

My aunt and uncle lost just about everything when the water came rushing in to St. Bernard Parish. Luckily they were all okay. When things started to settle down and the water receded, my mom drove down to New Orleans to help out her sisterand pull anything that was salvageable from the house. One of those items was my quilt. Sure it was a little worse for wear but my aunt and mom were determine to salvage the quilt. After many washing the quilt looked much better.

I received my quilt when my mom and I visited her in Mississippi in the summer of 2007. It may have taken a beating, but that quilt is one of my favorites that I own.

This quilt has been through a lot, but it survived. So if this quilt can survive Katrina, I can make it through anything. And after this year I am much stronger than I realized. Some days are great and some days I’m just down in the dumps but with every passing month I’m doing better than the last and that is what counts.

Handmade has truly inspired me this year. Reconnecting with my creative side has done wonders for my psyche, especially after my miscarriage. Creating with my hands and being creative is the best therapy out there. Creating handmade bags/totes/necklaces allowed me to focus on something else other than my pain and helped me deal with my lost. I know I have more healing to do, but I think I’m well on my way and handmade items have inspired me to tap into that strength that has always been there.

7 thoughts on “{Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop} handmade

  1. Wow – what an amazing piece you have there. I know from personal experience how tough miscarriage can be. So glad you have something that gives you a boost!

Leave a Reply

