{Inspiration Workshop} Books!

Hi, my name is Jess and I’m a bookaholic. There I’ve gotten that over with. I love books, I can’t get enough books and I spend most of my money buying books for me and to give as gifts. I spent a good portion of my childhood at the local library. I even started volunteering there in the 2nd grade and that helped me get my first job there years later. I loved working in the library that I just had to come back, I couldn’t stay away.

I work as a youth librarian and I’m surrounded by books during the day. When I’m at home {and not sewing} my nose is usually in a book. Books are an integral part of my daily life. Heck I never leave the house without a book or my NOOK in my bag {you just never know when you might have a few minutes to do a little reading}. One day I will have a room filled with my books, I just need more bookcases first, since I’ve already filled up the ones I have.

I love books! So here is a quick list of my favorite books that I have read in recent years.

My Top 10 All-Time Favorite Books {in no particular order}

  1. Harry Potter {series} by J.K Rowling – without this book I may never have become a librarian. This book reminded me why I loved to read, the adventure and mystery of a story. Plus it got me back into reading and I have not stopped since.
  2. Looking for Alaska by John Green – what an amazing piece of writing, this one showed me the way to youth librarianship.
  3. The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt – loved it, you must read this one!
  4. Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson – I have loved and cherished everyone of her books but this one set during the American Revolution was priceless. This one will bring tears to your eyes.
  5. Wide Awake by David Levithan – in the near future a gay, Jewish man has been elected President of the USA. Levithan is a master of weaving together a story about politics and a touching love story, this is a story that will open your eyes.
  6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Historical fiction as its best!
  7. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak – what can I say I love Markus Zusak!
  8. A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park – what begins as two stories about a girl in Sudan in 2008 and a boy in Sudan in 1985, the two stories intersect in a powerful way.
  9. The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner’s Semester at America’s Holiest University by Kevin Roose – A book to make you stop and think about your faith, pick this one up.
  10. Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick – one story told as a narrative and other told with beautiful pencil drawings, Selznick brings these two different stories told 50 years about in a way I never imagined. Here is my review from my book blog.

I love books, especially children’s and teen books and libraries are a wonderful place to discover your next favorite book.

3 thoughts on “{Inspiration Workshop} Books!

  1. The Book Thief is my ALL TIME favorite book! When I finished reading it, i couldn’t put it down. So I walked around with it like a baby in my arms. It was just so touching!

    • Jess says:

      I know what you mean. I am looking forward to picking up Underdogs, a book that was originally published in Australia, but not the States. Looks like a nice collection of stories.

Leave a Reply

