Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

As I’m still banning myself from my beloved coffee as Nora becomes rather fussy when I have even decaf, my choice warm beverage in the morning has become a nice cup of hot chocolate.

I can’t stand store bought hot chocolate mix, it is never chocolaty or creamy enough. So I had a recipe that I grew up but knew it could use some tweaking. So the hubby and I started looking for other recipes to help improve our base recipe. After some experimentation with a few different recipes we finally landing on a combination of our old recipe and Mel’s Kitchen Cafe’s recipe.

Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix (adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe)

  • 5 quarts dry milk
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups cocoa powder
  • 1 bag white chocolate chips (I prefer Ghirardelli white chips)
  • 1/4 tsp salt

In a food processor combine 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and the white chocolate chips. Blend until no large chunks of chips. Combine this and the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl. Store in an air tight container and enjoy. Yields roughly 25-30 servings.

IMG_20130312_110133

Fill your mug with 1/3 cup of hot chocolate mix and stir in roughly 1 cup of hot water (depending on the size of your mug you may need more or less mix and water) top with real whipped topping and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

