Hokey Pokey by Jerry Spinelli

Okay confession time, growing up I didn’t particularly enjoy reading Jerry Spinelli, thus I have not read much of his work. It wasn’t until I read Stargirl that I began to come around to his writing style. So coming into Hokey Pokey I wanted to keep any open mind about this book and I must say I really enjoyed this one. Enough to say that this is one of my favorites of 2013.

Welcome to Hokey Pokey. There are absolutely no adults in Hokey Pokey, just kids and the laws the govern Hokey Pokey are simple and finite. But when one of the big kids, Jack gets his bike stolen by a girl, the whole world of Hokey Pokey is turned on its head.

Jack is one of the “big kids”. The one all the little kids look up to and admire. So without his bike Jack doesn’t know what to do anymore. The day his bike was stolen he awoke not feeling quite right and feels that something big is about to change. Jack like most kids his age is right on the cusp of transition between child and teen. The things that use to make him happy now just seem babyish and Jack is thinking it may be time to grow up. But what does this hold, deep down Jack knows what he has to do. Is Jack really ready to leave Hokey Pokey and grow up?

Beware that the first few chapters you may feel a little confused as to what the heck is going on, but keep going because it starts to make sense after those initial chapters. And  you will glad you continued reading. I fell in love with the allegory of the story. I can’t say much else without giving away the story, other than I highly recommend this one to kids in those rough transitional years and adults alike.

Leave a Reply

