Mexican Stuffed Peppers

We I first started making this recipe I made it just like the original recipe, Mexican Stuffed Shells. The first time I made it I was a little hesitant since I made it for my hubby and younger brother. But I need not worry, this recipe was an instant success!

Then in January 2013 I decided to go on a low to no carb diet with my hubby. Of course this meant that this recipe was one that we really shouldn’t have as often as I would like. So I wanted to try it as a stuffed pepper recipe. Now my hubby was hesitant about stuffed peppers, but I have slowly been working on him to enjoy peppers in other foods. But when I made, he loved it and we have been perfecting the recipe every since.

Mexican Stuffed Peppers (adapted from The Way to His Heart)

  • 3 bell peppers (I prefer to use orange since they have a sweeter taste) cut in half and seeds removed.
  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • 1 pkg taco seasoning (or 2 TBSP of homemade)
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cup salsa
  • taco sauce
  •  shredded cheddar cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350. Slice peppers in half and remove seeds. Place them in a 9×13 foil lined baking dish. Brown the ground beef, drain then add taco seasoning. Then on low heat add the cream cheese and mix well. Once the cream cheese has melted and is mixed with the ground beef remove from heat then add the salsa.

Add the ground beef mixture into the pepper halves. Top the peppers with the taco sauce (to your liking). Cover baking dish with foil and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Remove foil, add shredded cheddar cheese and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes or until the cheese has melted. Then enjoy!

We ate two before I remembered to take a picture.

We ate two before I remembered to take a picture.

Leave a Reply

