My First 5K

DSC_0206To say the very least, I’m proud of myself for completing my first 5K this past Saturday. After I had Nora and was cleared to begin exercising I knew I needed to do something that would allow me to bring Nora along with me. So running was a natural way for me to get outside and get some exercise all at the same time. Plus I get the bonus of her usually napping while I’m running. Fresh air and napping equals one happy momma!

So my brother and his girlfriend started running at the beginning of the year and ran in the Irish Jig 5K in March and was inspired by them to try and train for a 5K. So after some nudging from my brother I signed up for the River Bank 5K and started training. I set a few goals for myself for the race.

  1. Run the entire 5K.
  2. Complete the race in under 40 minutes.

I accomplished both of my goals! I was able to run the entire 5K and I completed the race in 38:08!!! Now that I’ve completed my first 5K I’m already looking forward to another race in June. Time for me to start working on lower my time and maybe just maybe start adding more miles.

Leave a Reply

