My Favorite Children’s Books

Happy Children’s Book Week! In celebration of Children’s Book Week, I thought I would share some of my all time favorite children’s books.

We Are in a Book by Mo Willems, is one of my favorite Elephant and Piggie books. I love reading this one to 1st and 2nd graders! A great easy reader.

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss, will always have a special place in my heart. I still have my original copy that was given to me as a baby. Now I get to share this classic with Nora and it just fills my heart with joy that I can share one of my books with my daughter.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. I fell in love with Eric Carle’s illustrations when I first started working at my hometown library back in high school, plus this is just a classic!

Chicken Dance by Tammi Sauer, illustrated by Dan Santat. A book with a barnyard talent show that includes all the craziest chickens, what’s not to love! A fun one to read aloud.

Oh No! (Or How My Science Project Destroyed the World) by Marc Barnett, illustrated by Dan Santat. I see a trend, generally if Dan Santat has illustrated the book I am more than likely going to love it. Plus this story is just hilarious. I have read this one numerous time for school visits and tours and it is always a hit!

Charlotte’s Web by E.B White, illustrated by Garth Williams. I remember reading this one the first time in school and just loved the story, that I raced ahead to finish reading it, just so I could read it again.

Clementine by Sara Pennypacker, illustrated by Marla Frazee. What a great book for beginning chapter book readers. Clementine is a riot, I just love her spunk and personality.

Holes by Lois Sachar. A Newbery Medal winner with plenty of readability, couldn’t ask for much else.

Those are just a few of my favorites, I have plenty more and I’m sure I will be adding to my list has the years go on.

What are your favorite children’s books?

Leave a Reply

