Second Quarter Reading Recap

How time flies, can’t believe that my little Nora is 6 months old! So here is what I have been read this past quarter.

  • Hold Fast by Blue Balliett

I enjoyed most of this one, but did find a few parts unbelievable.

  • How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

This was a book club selection, that parts of which I enjoyed and other parts not so much.

  • Out of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Love the setting, this one is not for everyone but I enjoyed it.

  • One Came Home by Amy Timberlake

Story was just too uneven for me to really enjoy it.

  • Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Great story, great setting. Found it hard to put this one down.

I wish every middle-grade fantasy novel was this good!

  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this one.

  • Bomb: The Race to Build -and Steal- the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin

One of the best books I have every read on the history of the atomic bomb. Defiantly need more non-fiction written in a narrative form.

  • Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

Listened to the audiobook. Loved the full narration, really made this book for me.

  • Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Lots of characters introduced in the beginning, but the pace quickens and of course she leaves readers hanging waiting for book 2.

  • Hollywood, Dead Ahead by Kate Klise

The 5th book in the 43 Old Cemetery Road series, just a great little series for young readers. Love the format, story is told through a series of letters and newspaper articles.

  • Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

My book club selection for May. Not one I would have pick up on my own but it was worth a read.

  • Pandora’s Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal by Melanie Warner

There are plenty of books similar to this one, but I still enjoyed reading it. If you are looking for a way to help cut back on processed foods read this one, and learn about the food industry and how processed food is really made.

  • Game by Barry Lyga

The sequel to I Hunt Kill. In my opinion this one is even better, this is one to read during day light, I freaked myself out a few times reading this one after dark.

  • One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

Loved the story and the characters.

  • Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle

Meh, okay told through free verse. This one didn’t really stick with me.

  • Ivy and Bean by Annie Barrows

Cute, but give me Ramona or Clementine any day of the week.

  • The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima

Oh. My. Gosh. This was SO good! A great way to end the Seven Realms series.

  • Twelve Kinds of Ice by Ellen Bryan Obed

As an adult I enjoyed this one, but have a hard time believing a child would willingly pick this one up.

  • Not Exactly a Love Story by Audrey Couloumbis

A decent audiobook, wouldn’t have finished it otherwise.

  • The Matchbox Diary by Paul Fleischman

Gorgeous illustrations and a wonderful story.

  • The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hanagarne

One of my favorites of the year.

  • French Milk by Lucy Knisley

A great travel memoir in graphic format.

Leave a Reply

