2014 Word of the Year – Today

I’ve done New Year’s Resolutions in the past, only to see them fall to the side a few months into the new year. So this year I decided I would take part in the Word of the Year 365. This will give me one goal/word to focus on for the year that will encompass my entire life.

I’ve always been a worrier. Never fails I will worry even when there is nothing to worry about. I would worry myself sick sometimes. Then I met my husband, who is NOT a worrier and he started rubbing off on me after we got married. I had been doing pretty good, until Nora came along. Then my worry-ness came back with a vengeance. Anxiety and worry took over for the first month of Nora’s life and after my hubby convinced me I talked to my doctor and got on some anxiety meds that have helped tremendously. Even so I spent the better part of 2013 worrying. Worrying about the little things, the big things, and things that didn’t even need me to worry about. I lost sight of the precious gift that God had given me, wake up each morning and praise him for today!

After I decided to participate in Word of the Year, it didn’t take me long to decide that my word had to be TODAY.

Each day is a new day, the past is in the past and the future I don’t have control over. {Reminding myself to hand control over to God about the future has been so good for me. God has a plan and will reveal it when the time is right.} I will be focusing on each new day, trying to not let yesterday get me down and not worrying about tomorrow. With a toddler I know there will be bad days but each day is a fresh start. So if yesterday was a battle, I’m going to leave it and not bring those battles with me today. This is going to be work for me and my hubby has already told me he is behind me 100% and will help hold me accountable. (One of the many reasons why I love him!)

I look forward to focusing on one word for 2014, since I know it will be a change for the better.

2 thoughts on “2014 Word of the Year – Today

Leave a Reply

