Sewing is Good for the Soul

So yeah, to say I love my new sewing machine would be an understatement. I absolutely, positively love my new machine! I get so jazzed to sew. I’m no longer just planning projects, I’m actually accomplishing them! Since bringing my machine home I have sewn at least once a day and sometimes twice depending on how nap and bedtime goes.

My word of the year is today and my sewing has been really reflecting this. I have put off certain projects because I didn’t think my skills were good enough, well I’ll never get good enough if I don’t try and I most certainly have been trying and testing my sewing and creative skills. Plus I no longer have the excuse that my machine can’t handle a certain project because it didn’t have a free arm, well not anymore!

With that I have been checking off projects that have been on my sewing to-do list for quite awhile. There are still plenty there, but I’m happy with the progress I’ve made so far.

First I finished piecing together a quilt for one of my nieces for Christmas (yes I’ve started working on Christmas gifts already!), I love how it fast it come together. I had a jelly roll and used the Fat Quarter Shop Jelly Roll Jam pattern, but I just added more blocks to make it bigger and I love the end result. So cute!

IMG_1220

I sewed a few of this bag style for Christmas gifts last year. And I just knew this would make a great library bag. Now I don’t have to worry about overloading my library bag.

IMG_1234

IMG_1237In addition to a new library tote, I started sewing up new fabric grocery bags. I’ve completed one and have many more planned.

IMG_1252

Pattern from Michelle Patterns

I also stitched up an Everything drawstring bag from Jeni’s Drawstring bag pattern. Love how fast it comes together.

IMG_1304I have many more projects in the works. Including a new tote/diaper bag for myself and a throw quilt for the family room. Time to get back to the sewing room!

 

 

Leave a Reply

